Cholesterol Control

I have done my full body check-up for this year as I planned to. Blood and urine test that included :

    • Kidney function test
    • Liver function test
    • Diabetic screen
    • Cholesterol
    • Hepatitis B
    • Thyroid screen
    • HIV
    • Syphilis
    • Urine feme

And also Tumor markers all for only RM200. Glad that the clinic was having promotion so I grabbed it quick. If not, as I checked from several clinics/hospitals, the same package costs almost RM500! Thank God for this.

I think I am the kind of person who is health-conscious. But WAIT! NOT the kind of health-conscious who exercises everyday, eats clean, counts calories, all home-cooked etcetera, no. I mean, conscious in a way that any little things I feel or see, in or on my body, I will start thinking of any possibilities that could happen in the worldddd!

Just a little twinge on my chest makes me think of what’s wrong with my organs?? Is my heart functioning well? Has any foreign element entered my body and pinched my lungs or something?? So I need to do this blood examination recurrently so my mind will be at peace. THAT kind of health-conscious me. Is that the right term? Of course not. But I don’t know what it is. Whatever, that’s just what I called myself with the hope that one day I will be a true health-conscious person that really takes care of the body and will age gracefully. Wallaahh.

Back to the topic, I did my health screening almost yearly since 2012. Alhamdulillah usually, the results were all fine except for…Cholesterol Level! It’s always highlighted high. You know it has this; HDL (good cholestrol), LDL (bad cholesterol) and  Total Cholesterol calculation. Mine was usually very high in bad cholesterol and made the total high as well. So this time I also thought that I will be lectured by the doctor about the same things; cholesterol, eating habits, lifestyles all sorts. But heyy, to my surprise that’s not the case! My cholesterol has gone down to onlyyy a slight high on the bad cholesterol but the Total is fine! Oh my Goddd…I’m soo happy. I did not expect this!

cholesterol chart correct

Source : Google

So here’s the thing. Since my last cholesterol check mid-last year that showed my cholesterol reached borderline-high range (reading 6 mmol/L), I began taking health supplements called Omega Guard (Fish Oil) and Phytocol-ST by Shaklee. I guess it’s quite popular that Fish Oil is the solution for high cholesterol issue, but not Phytocol (or maybe I’m not aware). It was suggested by my sister as an add-on supplement to be taken together with Omega Guard.

Omega Guard works to reduce the cholesterol in your body while Phytocol works to prevent the new ones from coming in. It’s like a two-way work, right? That’s good. So I bought both types for 4 months stocks and started new routine.

shaklee

After all those years having this high cholesterol issue and it kept increasing, I thought it’s nothing I can do about it. Changing lifestyle and eating habits? You know it’s easier said than done. Now that at least my little action taken showed some improvement (latest Total reading at 4.5mmol/L – ideal range), I’d like to share this with you all. I know high cholesterol is somewhat a major health problem; it could lead to the risk of heart disease and stroke, especially for us Malaysians because our foods are all marvelous yet fatty too.

So guys, if you’d like to buy those supplements I mentioned above or any other vitamins, please do call my sister or my sister-in-law (contact details below). They’re selling  a whole range of vitamins/supplements products from Shaklee and can give you the best advice for your health issues.

Siti Munirah 
Whatsapp : +60 187 669 798 
Instagram : @shakleebysitimunirah 
Website : http://www.sitimunirah.com/

Ain Syafinas 
Whatsapp : +60 132 744 885
Instagram : @vitamin_shakleejb

My bad cholesterol level is still not ideal (2.72 mmol/L) so I hope it can be reduced more. I gotta continue with the supplements and exercise more often! Oh this is the struggle because I am not an active person. Eating habit is another problem.

Nevertheless, whatever excuses I give myself, it doesn’t make me any good. We age by days and so do our bodies. Illnesses nowadays are not selective. We can see many young people got diagnosed with critical sickness just like that. Some reasons are not explainable but the best is to take care of ourselves and most importantly, be happy. Stress is no good!

Till the next post,
SALZY

Leave a Reply

