Pregnancy @ Week 17 : 3rd Check Up (Part 2 – Q&A Session)

  • Issue 1 – Kad Merah Klinik Kerajaan.

Bile pregnant je org akan tanye “Dah buat kad merah?” Or buku merah or kad pink or whatever you call it. I’m engaging a routine checkup at a private hospital and I don’t keep any of my pregnancy record with me. I saw the clinic maintains my details in one file but what’s given to me are only the appointment card, and also the ultrasound printscreen. That’s all. So some said you must have that. Some said not necessarily kad merah but at least any record for reference for any other hospitals in case of emergency (terberanak kat tempat lain plak) you got to be admitted not at your current hospital. Some said if the hospital don’t have specific book, ask a copy of the doctor’s record every time coming for checkups (memandaiiii aje!)

So that was the conflict so I asked doc. Answer – here in SunMed, they don’t give the details to patients. If you wanna go to other private hospitals, just go, no problem. But if you wanna go to GH for delivery, they won’t allow you if you’re without their kad merah. So if you plan to deliver at GH, you must buat your kad merah. If you wanna deliver at other private, kad merah is not necessary. If you don’t have kad merah and you got to be referred to GH, private will provide referral letter. Haaa…. Like that. If if if….

  • Issue 2 – Long distance travelling right after discharged

I lived in Sunway,PJ and am planning to be in confinement at my Mama’s house in JB. If I deliver my baby here in SunMed, would it be ok for me to travel in car for 3 to 4 hours all the way to JB right after discharged? Would it be dangerous? Would it be any bleeding or whatever?

Doc said – ”It’s ok, no problem, yes you can. Many ppl did that anyway. There are even ppl who travel by plane, straight to airport right after discharged. – That is if you have a natural birth (normal).”

But if you go thru caesarean, you have to come back for follow-ups after 10 days. So cannot balik kampong rightaway. Clarified.

  • Issue 3 – Serious dizziness

One of the symptoms in my 4th month of pregnancy is serious dizziness. No more nausea like in the first trimester but I feel dizzy like ALL THE TIME for the past two weeks can you imagine? Ok, not all the time but most of the time, seriously. L And being pregnant I know we can’t simply take any pills/pain killers. Sakit pon, tahan je lah.. so I asked doc and she said it’s all common. Until you reach certain phase of pregnancy it will fade. So now just bear with it, get rest or if you can’t stand it, you can take panadol. Panadol ONLY. The doctor is quite strict on the medication and she again stressed that I can’t simply take any pills/pain killers. Those drugs may defect your baby. Aaaaa takut! It’s ok lah doctor. I would rather just tahan this sakit pening kepala than taking any pills that can be risky. Huhu…

From what I read, as the pregnancy goes on, so does the tummy. The speedy expansion of the tummy (and body weight as well) might affect the way we balance our body because we are adapting with the new centre of gravity of our body. Yeah, that makes sense. Because my tummy has started gaining attention..those who don’t know I’m pregnant can already tell that I am. Other than that, it’s also because of heart that pumps more blood, the blood pressure and so on…so your organs are adjusting with the roller coasters inside. Still, it’s most unlikely that we will be all black-out and fall. Mine’s not until that bad. So just relax….and sabarrr….

  • Issue 4 – Other pregnancy supplements

Because we’re talking about pills restriction and so on, I came to ask her on other pregnancy products (there’s a bunch in the markets and online!). Again, she doesn’t allow her patients to take any other supplements than what she prescribed. Whatever that the hospital gives you is actually enough. Even some of those non-hospital products, got banned! So, clarified. So, xyah lah nak beli2 mcm2 product tambahan kat pasaran tu. We might not know the little possible side effects unless we do thorough research before taking it. I’m not that gigih. But for those whose taking any other supplements, of course it’s all up to individual, yeah? Later in the next post I’ll share with you the only Vitamins I’m taking for my pregnancy.

  • Issue 5 – Weight

What I knew about target of weight gaining during pregnancy is about 0.5kg a week = 2kg a month (+/-). After the fasting month and entering the second trimester, I gained better appetite and started to see my weight increment. Today, I gained 3kg+ from the previous month. Hee…! Doc said she doesn’t observe my weight..she just monitors the weight of my baby. Because I have a small physical so weight shouldn’t be an issue. Only that I have to jump over 50kg within this pregnancy. Ohhh I see….insyaAllah I can reach that in these few months. J

  • Issue 6 – The First Kicks?

Huhu…..this is what playing in my mind lately. When is baby gonna start kicking?? Penat tggu penat concentrate. I saw your legs already but tak kick mom pon? I even asked my hubby to listen at my tummy. Xde pon?? Huhu…

Me, ”Doc, when’s the baby start kicking?”

Doc, “There, its been kicing already. So active.”

Me, “What? But I never feel anything?”

Doc, “It’s not about when the baby starts kicking. It’s when YOU FEEL the kicks.”

Ohhhh……really…. I see…. Aaa…..this is tricky! I think sometimes I feel something inside but is that a kick? How is it actually? Aaaaa I don’t know! Conflict..conflict… hehehe…. It’s okay, take ur time baby. Or I’m the one who should take my time? Because this is my very first pregnancy. So I really don’t know how’s it like.. It’s okay…this is my journey! J According to doc, the latest I should be feeling the kicking is at 24 weeks. So it’s about 7 weeks from now insyaAllah I’ll feel it. Come on baby! Your dad is a good striker so come on, show your talent! :p Kesian baby he must be struggling inside! 😀

Not me. Just gambar hiasan. =p

Yeahh…. That is all the Q&A session in my third pregnancy checkup just for sharing. If you wanna add up anything you know about my confusion, pls do, thank you! 🙂

Update : *My Lil’ One inside is 16 weeks old!*

9 thoughts on “Pregnancy @ Week 17 : 3rd Check Up (Part 2 – Q&A Session)

Leave a Reply

